Sponsored by:

Thinking about something crazy - an automatic

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2016, 01:28 AM
harmonyp
Burning Brakes

Received 136 Likes on 93 Posts
Default Thinking about something crazy - an automatic

Not wanting to start a manual / automatic war. Really mostly interested in hearing from people who love driving manuals, that have for one reason or another have changed to a C7 A8, and your feelings about that change.

I LOVE manual transmissions. I've been driving either a manual vette or camaro for the past 6 years. I commute 10 hours a week, and a lot is in stop and go. I have never really minded the manual in stop and go - "occasionally" I get tired, but VERY rarely. Mostly I find the shifting exhilarating.

I'm only considering an automatic for one reason. I found a 2016 with my very favorite of any C7 interior - spice red. Car is perfect...except...it is an automatic. I haven't driven yet, but I'm seriously thinking about it.

I could rationalize that it will be easier for my commute. As a Stingray, it'd eat WAY less gas then my Camaro ZL1 that I have to fill up every 2 1/2 to 3 days.

Anyone make this change, and regret it? Anyone else make this change, without doing so because of an injury, and really surprised how much more you enjoy the A8 than you thought?

Please, no boring religious wars.
Old 11-01-2016, 02:38 AM
bd377103
Instructor

Received 76 Likes on 47 Posts

I had a 15' A8 and now have a 16' M7, both were 2LT Z51. For me it just depends on the day and what I am doing with the car.

I actually really enjoyed the A8 in manual mode when I was doing spirited driving, but ironically I prefer the M7 in traffic. The one thing that bothered me about the A8 was it was really hard to stay off the rev limiter in 1st if in manual mode. (You really have to anticipate the upshift)