Sponsored by:

Shifting question

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2018, 03:13 PM
Rogillio
Advanced

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Shifting question

I am new to manual transmissions. Driven a motorcycle all my life so understand shifting but this is a different beast. Been 4 + months now and I’m getting the hang of it. I no longer have the humiliating experience of killing the engine taking off from a red light. Most of the time I have no problem shifting but occasional I have a hard time finding second. I will usually just give up after a bit and go to third. Seems to happen when I am driving aggressively. So couple of questions.

Is there some some sort of limiter to keep you from going into 2nd if the rpms are too high?

is it ok to go from 1 to 3?

And a really lazy stupid question....if I’m in fourth and coming up to red light, can I just bump the shifter to to neutral w/o pressing the clutch? Haven’t tried it yet as I don’t want to grind gears. Just don’t know enough about the mechanics of a tranny to know how the gears are disengaging.
Old 05-04-2018, 05:49 PM
Shaka
Safety Car

Received 1,331 Likes on 790 Posts

Originally Posted by Rogillio
I am new to manual transmissions. Driven a motorcycle all my life so understand shifting but this is a different beast. Been 4 + months now and I’m getting the hang of it. I no longer have the humiliating experience of killing the engine taking off from a red light. Most of the time I have no problem shifting but occasional I have a hard time finding second. I will usually just give up after a bit and go to third. Seems to happen when I am driving aggressively. So couple of questions.

Is there some some sort of limiter to keep you from going into 2nd if the rpms are too high?