C7 Tech/Performance Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Error Code Reader - what are the basics?

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2015, 01:06 PM
NickHall
Madison Wisconsin
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 32 Likes on 20 Posts

Default Error Code Reader - what are the basics?

To Forum Members:
I am totally new to the art of error code reading and would like to get up to speed and read my own codes, rather than paying Chevy the $60 to just read the codes on my C7.

Trouble is.... I know nothing about doing this.

I know I need a code reader of some sort to connect to my PC, or my smart phone or use a code reader with a screen on it.

Now for my question....

Can someone give me some advice on where to start?

I want a complete read out of each code that comes up and what it means (if possible). I have had the C7 engine light come on twice and each time it cost me $60 to have them read it only to tell me that there is nothing wrong.

So I would like to do this myself and then if it is something that needs attention, then take the car to the dealer for fixing or changing.

So if any of you can provide some detailed help of where to go, what to buy, and options to this approach, I would greatly appreciated it.

Nick
Old 05-08-2015, 02:52 PM
Theta
Tech Contributor

Received 220 Likes on 110 Posts
St. Jude Donor '14-'15

Nick,

You can get basic code readers that will spit out P-codes for under $25 (MaxiScan MS300/MS309/MS310), or more advanced units like the Innova 3100 for around $100 that will tell you what the codes mean in real time.

If you want to have full dealer functionality (which I don't think you need unless you're planning on using this very often), you'll need a J-2534/MDI ($500-1000) and GDS2 subscription ($575/yr).