C7 Z06 Discussion General Z06 Corvette Discussion, LT4 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: GEM Motorsports

Scuff marks/chips

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2017, 05:04 PM
SharkgrayVetteZ06
Pro

Received 38 Likes on 33 Posts
Default Scuff marks/chips

I have a 17' Z06 (Z07) with 2200 miles and I have a couple chips but mostly scuff marks on the front and on the sides and I'm not sure how to get rid of these. They are even with the paint and the surface is smooth but I see these brownish marks. Not sure how to get rid of them. Im not experienced in using sand paper or something to get them out. I did order some touch up paint from local dealership but I don't think that will work on these scuff marks. I did order clearastic paint protection and plan on getting the front done in Xpel. I want to get rid of these marks before I do that. Anybody have any info on what I can do to get them out?
Old 03-18-2017, 05:27 PM
383vett
Race Director

Received 1,541 Likes on 1,042 Posts

I noticed a lot of scuffs and small scratches can be removed with a car was/cleaner. I use Mothers and it works for me. Stay away from the sandpaper and touchup paint until you try the wax and rub.
Old 03-18-2017, 07:26 PM
lgodom
Drifting

Received 286 Likes on 208 Posts

I use meguiars M205 for cleaning up paint scuffs either by hand or machine. It's the best mild abrasive polish that I've used. I'd try this with a microfiber applicator or polishing cloth and see If the scuffs come off. Usually if you can't feel them they can be removed.

Last edited by lgodom; 03-18-2017 at 07:27 PM.
Old 03-19-2017, 11:52 AM
BOBSZ857
Drifting

Received 215 Likes on 168 Posts

Pinnacle makes a paint cleanser that works well on this. I use it with a polisher and love the results.
Old 03-19-2017, 12:41 PM
Florida2000
Pro

Received 93 Likes on 51 Posts