Notices
C8 General Discussion The place to discuss the next generation of Corvette.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Is "Zerv" killing the ME?

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2017, 12:52 PM
LightningBolt
Racer

Received 49 Likes on 25 Posts
Default Is "Zerv" killing the ME?

The “Zerv” leaks have been interesting to us as Corvette enthusiasts, but also no doubt these leaks have also been interesting to GM’s competitors and have served to weaken the Corvette’s competitive advantage over it’s rivals. While the first leaks have certainly raised alarms at GM HQ, subsequent leaks might even have GM rethinking marketing strategy, release dates and engineering aspects of the project. At what point (if ever) does it take for GM to postpone or cancel the current project to re-market or re-engineer? Could Zerv be killing the dream?

My background is in the high tech industry, specifically software so I don’t understand the automotive industry as many here do, however, my industry has seen tons of intellectual property cases change the course of product development. I think while Zerv is fueling Vette enthusiasts interest through the theft and subsequent publication of CAD imagery, he may also be damaging the product we so badly want to see. Thoughts?
Old 12-27-2017, 12:59 PM
Jeff V.
Le Mans Master

Received 4,086 Likes on 1,971 Posts

They've already built engineering development vehicles and contracted with suppliers to produce parts. It's too late to make major changes to the program. You can't just change it on a whim like you can with software.
The following users liked this post:
JerriVette (12-28-2017)
Old 12-27-2017, 01:10 PM
firstvettesoon
Melting Slicks

Received 1,906 Likes on 750 Posts

I am also not in the industry but I would think that they are so far down the road that they really can't afford to change course. Not for leaks anyway.