Canadian Events Canada, eh?

Any app developers on the forum?

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2013, 09:57 AM
gdh
Le Mans Master

Received 86 Likes on 69 Posts

Default Any app developers on the forum?

Given the technology available to high school kids I am planning on adding a simple app development section to the Bds gr 9 Intro to Tech courses. I have a good program that I think will work with them, Buzztouch , but any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Remember these kids would have no programming experience and a little web design that I wrote 10 yrs ago for this program. (Yup, another pilot project in Ontario).
Old 07-03-2013, 03:27 AM
wbrowne
5th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

gdh

Buzztouch is great for mobile app development, but if you're looking to form the basic foundations for software development try Scratch by MIT.

I'm a software developer, I used Scratch to teach my kids programming. It's developed by MIT, forms a solid basis for future programmers.

Open source, so you can see how someone built their app/game/project. Learn by copy. You can take someone's code and rebuild on it. The immediacy of the results and the ability to make changes and see what happens opens their creativity. Highly recommended.

http://scratch.mit.edu/
Old 07-03-2013, 07:44 AM
gdh
Le Mans Master

Received 86 Likes on 69 Posts