Engine Mods Outrageous Builds, High-Horsepower Modifications, strokers, and big cams for the Corvette

Considering upgrading my zz4's heads and cam

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2007, 07:43 PM
CDaniel525
Melting Slicks

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Considering upgrading my zz4's heads and cam

I put this in the C3 Perf section but didnt get many replies... figure'd id try here

I am considering swapping out my stock ZZ4 heads for some AFRs and the HOTcam that I already installed for a Compcam...
I posted this setup a few years back, but no one ever seemed interested in it... its basically a stock zz4 bottom end with the AFRs and Compcam... I already have the single plane intake, 750 carb, and good exhaust...
I can see doing this setup for under $2500 myself. Doesnt seem bad to achieve 500+Hp IMO.
I have some questions tho as im no expert on building up a motor.

The stock ZZ4 heads are 58cc chambers, but the smallest you can get in a AFR is 65cc. I am presuming I would need to have the heads milled to retain my 10:1 compression ration? or how close would the ratio be running the 65cc and how much HP/TQ would i lose by not matching the 58cc? If I decide to mill the heads, is this something AFR can do from the factory and tack on the price? Or am I better off buying them from summit and having a shop mill them down?

This setup makes some serious power above 6000RPM and AFR recommends their higher rating springs and a "Hydra Rev Kit" IS this something I should definitely get? if so there are 2 different types, ones for factory lifters and one for aftermarket... im guessing the zz4s would be factory??

Here are the cam specs...
Part Number 08-444-8
Engine -Present Chevrolet
305ci-350ci
8cyl.
Grind Number CS XR300HR-10
Description
Intake Exhaust
Valve Adjustment 0 0
Gross Valve Lift 0.562 0.58
Duration At 0.006 Tappet Lift 300 306
Valve Timing At 0.006
Open Close
Intake 44 76
Exhaust 87 39

These Specs Are For The Cam Installed At 106 Intake CL
Intake Exhaust