Great Lakes Illinois | Indiana | Iowa | Michigan | Missouri | Minnesota | Ohio | Wisconsin

Chicago peeps! Info please!

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2008, 06:58 PM
G8rDMD
Le Mans Master

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
National Champs Gators 4 St. Jude '09
St. Jude Donor '10-'11
Default Chicago peeps! Info please!

Hey guys and gals!

My wife and I currently live in sunny, warm southwest Florida......
That being said, we are looking for a change and are thinking Chicago may be our final destination

Yes, I know that as I write this it is 74 degrees where I am and -3 degrees where I plan to be... But we are in our thirties, have always had the north in our hearts, and figure if we're ever going to do it, now is the time!

My question is this...we have both visited the city and loved it immediately. But where to live??? What are the nicer neighborhoods (i.e. safer, more upscale) both in the city and in the suburbs on the outskirts? I'm a dentist, so I'll obviously need to find a job--would it be better to look in the city, or again in the suburbs outlying the city? How much of a PITA is it to commute from the suburbs to the city for work on a daily basis?

If you have any input, please let me know Thanks in advance
Old 12-21-2008, 07:29 PM
blackvetterzo6
Le Mans Master

Received 1,018 Likes on 567 Posts

Try Libertyville, or Highland Park. North suburbs great towns great schools etc.etc.
Getting in and out of Chicago is a pain in the ***, unless you live there. Great place to live about 7 months a year.Winters are brutal as you well know.
Old 12-21-2008, 07:58 PM
perfectlyfrank
Le Mans Master

Received 29 Likes on 19 Posts
St. Jude Donor '06-'07-'08-'09-'10-'11-'12
Cruise-In 8, 9 & 11 Veteran

Let's just trade places.
Old 12-21-2008, 08:20 PM
johnnyvettes
CHICAGO CREW !
Support Corvetteforum!

Location: We are living in a Bazzaro World everything is upside down half ass backwards !
Received 90 Likes on 63 Posts
CI 4-5-6-7-8-9 Veteran
St. Jude Donor '06-'07-'08 & '12