Intros New Corvetteforum member introductions & welcomes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Time for a Corvette??

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2014, 01:37 AM
INTJ
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Time for a Corvette??

I'm a former USAF pilot, former amateur drag racer; current corporate employee, amateur lead trumpet player, fly fisherman, hunter, and Duramax owner--all that and middle aged too.......

I live in a place where people come to vacation. Within a couple hours of my house there are all kind of cool things to see and do. A couple weeks I got to thinking how it would be neat to get a nice motorcycle and take my wife on day trips during the many nice days we have throughout the year. We both work quite a bit, in three years the youngest is off to college, and it seemed like a fun thing to do. I presented this to my wife and asked her to think about it.

A few hours later she said "we need a sports car." (She hates motorcycles. I think seeing that rider decapitated--through no fault of his own--left a lasting impression.) So I said "what, like a Corvette?" She said "Yes." I said "What about a Camaro?" She said "No." A Corvette or a Denali Acadia.

When we were married in 1987 I owned a '66 non-matching convertible with a hardtop. I got it 90% restored and sold it and bought a drag race car when I discovered I enjoyed making the 'vette go fast more than I liked restoring it. We took it on one trip and though I had upgraded the suspension, it was still a very primitive car.

Anyway, in the next year or two we'll have our second 'vette. Our budget will be under $40K, and I have already seen a lot of nice C6s for that amount. I would just as soon buy a 1LT car with fewer miles or a newer year, but my wife wants at least a 3LT...............so we'll get at least a 3LT. You don't make it to 27 years of marriage without knowing when to listen.