Intros New Corvetteforum member introductions & welcomes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Re-Intro

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2017, 10:01 AM
Nsomniac
Instructor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Re-Intro

I've been out of the game for a while, so I thought I would reintroduce myself. I'm an autocross junkie, and a convert from the AWD world. I started autocross in a heavy, slow 2001 225 Audi TT. The more I learned, the more I realized it was a terrible autocross car. So I sold the Audi and went on a search for a Lancer Evolution right when the X came out. That led me down a path of mods and fun for a few years, and in fact I'm still an Admin on evolutionm.net, a sister forum to CF.

After 3 years of racing the evo, and discovering that the new X platform was at a disadvantage to the prior IX platform on an autocross course, I grew bored with the car. That's when I took a drive in a friend's C5. The RWD bug bit me hard. It was such a different animal - significantly harder and rewarding to tame on a course. So I started my search for a C5, and eventually ended up buying a C5Z from a CF forum member. The first year of racing was very humbling. I went from a consistent top 6 PAX finisher to outside the top 10. I loved every second of it. In year 2 and 3, I was finishing top 4 despite having to go to SSP (now ASP) because I couldn't fit in the car without an aluminum seat.

I was having an incredible time, but in the last event of season 3, I had an oil problem that starved the engine in a sweeper and caused a spun rod bearing. At the same time, my wife and I had been going through infertility issues for 6 years and were faced with our last option of in vitro if we wanted to have kids. Unfortunately the engine cost, plus the $20k for in vitro was more than I was willing to dip into our nest egg, so the car had to go. Luckily a friend and co-autocrosser was interested in the car, and he bought it to repair and run. That gave us enough money for these: