Photography The section to share and discuss photos you took and talk about camera gear.

Help me decide on a camera

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2020, 08:43 PM
VegasJen
CFOT Attention Whore

Support Corvetteforum!

Received 80 Likes on 32 Posts

Default Help me decide on a camera

Guys, I am totally new to this so I need you to bear with me.

I'm very interested in getting into photography as a hobby, and maybe just a small side venture if I get good later on.

My main interest is photographing landscape, by which I typically mean distance shots. And by distance, I'm guessing much of my subject material would be in the 10-20 mile range. However, I would like to be able to take pictures of sunsets and moon rises with some degree of clarity. By that I don't mean I want to be able to make out Tranquility Base in my photos, just have the moon be round and reasonably in focus.

I'm on a budget so I'm looking used. My ideal price range is right around $300. I could probably go $500, but that would sting for something that is just a hobby at this point. I've kind of been looking around CL for some used stuff. I know a lot of people (including me) have invested a lot of money in things, then turned around and sold something that was like new for half of the price invested.

I don't know much of anything about photography yet, and I'm very much a "hands on" kind of learner. I'm asking here because I need someone with experience to break it down to idiot level information. Please keep it KISS. You start talking about why Widget 2.0 is better than Thingamabob 5x and my eyes are going to start glazing over.

I'm not opposed to buying something decent now that may not be ideal, but a good tool for me to learn with, then upgrade later. So my initial purchase doesn't have to be the best long term option. I don't even know if this is something I want to do that much yet.