CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion

CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/)
-   C6 Tech/Performance (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c6-tech-performance-101/)
-   -   C6 Corvette Melrose Headers give me less power???? (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c6-tech-performance/3996039-c6-corvette-melrose-headers-give-me-less-power.html)

Dsavkin 06-01-2017 11:41 PM

C6 Corvette Melrose Headers give me less power????

Hello.
Im new to CF and to Corvette in general. I got 2007 C6 Base automatic transmission.
Installed Airaid intake and Melrose coated Headers 1 3/4 prime and 3 exhaust tube, hi flow cats and x pipe 3". All pipes 3" but left OEM mufflers with 2,5" pipe from x pipe to muffler.
i feel less power in car after putting in $1400 I exhaust (parts and labor)
What did I do wrong? Do I need to change exhaust to create better flow? Should I take out hi flow cats and put resonators or straight pipe? Do I need tune?
Dont really understand. Thought will get more power.
Thank you all for help.

what else can I do to add more power for reasonable $$$$

Curt D 06-02-2017 02:18 AM

My 1-3/4 ARH felt better after install before a tune. Anywho...you should get a tune after headers and intake. The difference between cats and no cats is only a couple HP.

Dsavkin 06-02-2017 02:07 PM

Tune

So I need to Dino it or I can tune it with let's say SCT tuner witch has some tunes in it already?

GeeRock1 06-02-2017 06:11 PM

I have an 06 with Melrose headers and I also have an Airaid CAI. My car had noticeably more power immediately after the header install. If yours is making less power something is definitely wrong. You could have a bad or shorted O2 sensor that could be your problem. If that's the case you should be showing a CEL.

Dsavkin 06-03-2017 12:24 AM