Notices
C7 General Discussion General C7 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Last fuel fill up

 
Old 06-14-2019, 03:49 PM
  #21  
JMII
CF Senior Member
 
JMII's Avatar
 
Member Since: Jul 2018
Location: Margate, FL
Posts: 1,129
Received 345 Likes on 261 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by TXSteveF View Post
I hate it when these threads end up in the "Corvette design flaw" spectrum, drives me crazy.
Correct... this is not unique to the C7. In fact in my wife's current car (an Infiniti Q60) is 10X worse. The filler neck in that car makes a tight turn which causes fits with most pumps. Its so bad she has given up filling up at certain stations because you can't get more any more then two or three gallons in before it shuts off

Last edited by JMII; 06-14-2019 at 03:50 PM.
JMII is online now  
Old 06-14-2019, 04:12 PM
  #22  
IAIA
CF Senior Member
 
IAIA's Avatar
 
Member Since: Dec 2006
Location: Orange County California
Posts: 2,009
Received 42 Likes on 35 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by tcinla View Post
Iíve found that situating the gas nozzle upside down resting g on the open filler door results in no cutoff during filling. The Costco attendant showed me that trick.
Same with me. Every time. And I make sure the rubberish gas handle cover rests on the filler door, with no metal touching the filler door.
IAIA is offline  
Old 06-14-2019, 04:27 PM
  #23  
Grand Slam
CF Senior Member
 
Grand Slam's Avatar
 
Member Since: Oct 2004
Location: Sunnyvale CA
Posts: 1,096
Received 144 Likes on 112 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by TXSteveF View Post
True. And the info screen is really accurate with how many gallons you need so I always know within a gallon how much I'm getting. It's all good. I hate it when these threads end up in the "Corvette design flaw" spectrum, drives me crazy.
What Info display provides an estimate of the number of gallons you need to fill up?
Grand Slam is offline  
Old 06-14-2019, 04:52 PM
  #24  
dave_2012_tt
CF Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Member Since: Jul 2014
Posts: 135
Received 35 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Grand Slam View Post
What Info display provides an estimate of the number of gallons you need to fill up?
Not sure if there is one to tell you how many gallons to fill up but one of the options on the DIC is gallons used. The tank is 18 gallons so there you go. The chevy app will tell you how many gallons you have left.
When I was having trouble filling up I used the simple math to make sure I did not overfill. Put in 12 gallons.

thanks for all the replies...glad to read this is normal.
dave_2012_tt is offline  
Old 06-14-2019, 07:53 PM
  #25  
iclick
CF Senior Member
 
iclick's Avatar
 
Member Since: Mar 2013
Location: Baton Rouge LA
Posts: 2,691
Received 356 Likes on 288 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by JDSC7VETTE View Post
Itís not the car itís the pump. Some of the pumps are very sensitive and shut off at the slightest amount of back pressure.
I think this is the culprit, possibly related to the pump filter. I had this happen in my 2015 sporadically and early on with my 2017, but haven't noticed it in quite some time. Next time it happens, stop the transaction and try another pump.
iclick is offline  
Old 06-15-2019, 03:00 AM
  #26  
Grand Slam
CF Senior Member
 
Grand Slam's Avatar
 
Member Since: Oct 2004
Location: Sunnyvale CA
Posts: 1,096
Received 144 Likes on 112 Posts
Default

Thanks. I haven't reset the revs and fuel used counter since I bought my car. Fun to see the totals. I have the free basic OnStar plan so can't see remaining fuel in the App. On road trips with a friend he is pretty good at estimating from the gas gauge how much gas a full tank will take.

BTW, fuel capacity is rated at 18.5 gal.
Grand Slam is offline  
Old 06-15-2019, 09:15 AM
  #27  
Corgidog1
CF Senior Member
 
Corgidog1's Avatar
 
Member Since: Dec 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,681
Received 1,202 Likes on 791 Posts
Default

Happens occasionally to me-problem is I live in NJ where it is not self service and the attendants who pump the gas sometimes get inpatient.
Corgidog1 is offline  
Old 06-17-2019, 05:42 PM
  #28  
dave_2012_tt
CF Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Member Since: Jul 2014
Posts: 135
Received 35 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Well, after driving about 300 miles on Friday and Saturday (both to golf courses) it was time to fill up the corvette again. this time I went to pump number 4 and all went smooth. I used pump number 5 when I had issues before. I know it is childish but I like to use number 5 since that is the number on the mach 5.

I will try pump 5 again next time.


Dave
dave_2012_tt is offline  
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Last fuel fill up


Contact Us - About Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: