C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New guy with a question

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2017, 09:57 AM
Inglimer
7th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New guy with a question

Hi, Jack here from Kansas City.
Soon to be going from an 06 gt boosted Mustang to either an 08 or 09 ls3.
I would like to get some direction on the least expensive and easiest way to bump the performance in the ls3.
My goal would be at or near a stock zo6 level.
I couldn't find this specifically addressed via search and I'm also new to the more recent gen of vettes.
Thanks
Old 10-19-2017, 10:06 AM
JJLAI724
Pro

Received 146 Likes on 99 Posts

I believe a cam mod is the best choice for this performance upgrade.

Welcome to the forum. Post pics of your new ride when you can.
Old 10-22-2017, 03:02 PM
Inglimer
7th Gear

[QUOTE=JJLAI724;1595794027]I believe a cam mod is the best choice for this performance upgrade.
Anybody else on this one?
Thanks
Old 10-22-2017, 03:07 PM
J.Moore
Burning Brakes

Received 223 Likes on 150 Posts

The LS2 and LS3 engines in stock form are more than enough for any street driver. Do you really think you can unleash 400+ HP on the street?

Why not just buy a Z06 from the start and not do any "mods."
Old 10-22-2017, 03:28 PM
doomi
Drifting

Received 203 Likes on 166 Posts

[QUOTE=Inglimer;1595813476]
Originally Posted by JJLAI724
I believe a cam mod is the best choice for this performance upgrade.
Anybody else on this one?
Thanks
I went the cam route. CAI, ported throttle body, headers, exhaust, and cam plus dyno tune. 468 rwhp and 445 ft lbs torque.

If I were to start over I would have tossed a super charger on it instead of the cam. FI isn't the cheap way to go though.

Can you do any of the work youself?
Old 10-22-2017, 05:47 PM
zryder07
Instructor

Received 15 Likes on 15 Posts