Sponsored by:

C5 Front Spolier

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2015, 09:38 PM
rickw99vette
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default C5 Front Spolier

I am considering buying a front spoiler for my C5, I have been looking at the ACI Spoiler but I've been reading it can make your water temp rise. I have a 160 degree thermostat already installed.Anyone know of a different spoiler that has good air flow to the cold air intakes ? Would I be better off not installing a spoiler ?
Old 08-29-2015, 12:19 AM
mstromquist
Le Mans Master
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 3,893 Likes on 1,679 Posts
2015 C5 of the Year Winner

I have the 160 stat in mine and I rarely see any temps over 200 around here in Arizona. I also have the ACI spoiler on it. When I bought it I cut the back middle "scoop" off of it so it would let the air in almost like the spoiler wasn't there. I think it made a difference but not sure if you want to do anything like that to a new one. I found mine used so it didn't cost the new price tag. I had it like in the picture for a while but it got damaged and I had to get it repaired. So I just cut the middle completely out. It hasn't made any difference in the structure at all. I don't have any pics of it like it is now but if you want to see it I can get under it and get some.

Old 08-29-2015, 12:20 AM
2FAS4UU
Burning Brakes

Received 74 Likes on 63 Posts

Originally Posted by rickw99vette
I am considering buying a front spoiler for my C5, I have been looking at the ACI Spoiler but I've been reading it can make your water temp rise. I have a 160 degree thermostat already installed.Anyone know of a different spoiler that has good air flow to the cold air intakes ? Would I be better off not installing a spoiler ?