Notices
C6 Corvette ZR1 & Z06 General info about GM’s Corvette Supercar, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Kraken

[Z06] left over bolt, maybe missing ground after head swap, wiring diagram needed

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2015, 09:15 PM
zulatr
Melting Slicks

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

Default left over bolt, maybe missing ground after head swap, wiring diagram needed

I had a bolt left over, I know, no jokes.
Looks like a trim or bracket bolt, so didn't worry too much about it.
It came from the passenger side of the car, was taken off from the top, if that helps?

My tuner, Pat G, says I have a big imbalance between the two banks, and thinks I have a bad plug, plug wire, or maybe a missing ground "on the back of the head".

I have an 08 Z.

Does anyone recognize this bolt?
IS there a ground back there that I missed? - I looked hard tonight and didn't see anything.
Anyone have a diagram of the wiring and maybe the ground points from the engine harness they could share?

Old 05-05-2015, 09:19 PM
amdoverclocker
Instructor

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Looks like a bolt out of the fan bracket. There are 2 bolts like that, lower drivers side.. top passenger side. Bolts are not shown in the picture below.

Last edited by amdoverclocker; 05-05-2015 at 09:25 PM.
Old 05-05-2015, 09:21 PM
JP426
Racer

Received 9 Likes on 5 Posts

I have my heads off now. I just went through all of my bolts and don't see any with that big of a washer. The closest bolt that looks like that is one of the ABS mounting bolts.
Mine is a 08 Z also. Sorry not much help.
Old 05-05-2015, 09:58 PM
08mojo
Pro

Received 53 Likes on 48 Posts

Just recently pulled the heads on my car. The only bolt on the back of the heads was the passenger side. It was a larger bolt (15mm head) that attached a wiring harness to the head. No other bolts on the heads to my recollection.
Old 05-06-2015, 06:48 AM
zulatr
Melting Slicks