Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New ZO6 Owner starting my track car build

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2010, 10:15 AM
Vette53
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New ZO6 Owner starting my track car build

Well... Just thought I would pop in and introduce myself since I am new to the Corvette scene. I have been pit crew for my son's racing for years now. Last season he jumped from karting to Spec Miata. Since I really want to get some track time for myself, I went out and bought a 2002 ZO6 with about 18k miles on it.

I am starting to build the car for HPDE days with the thought of running TT in the future. In the beginning I will use the car on the street. This forum has been a wealth of info. The car has a few mods on it already. The only major thing I need to take out will be the Nitrous. I am picking up a set of Sparco EVO 2 Plus seats today. I will put a four point roll bar and harnesses in the car as well. The roll bar will be fabricated by Piper Motorsports. Then I will do the following items before my first event.

- Stainless Brake Lines
- Brake cooling ducts
- Tie Rod heat shields
- Brake Pads
- Set of TBD tires on race wheels (I will stay with a street tire)
- Oil Catch Can/PCV Valve
- Belt tensioner
- Pedal Kit
- Radiator screen
- Tow hooks

I think that is it for now but a radiator with oil cooler is in the not so far off future. I realize I could buy a car with all this stuff for cheaper than I can build it but for me this is part of the fun. I'll post pictures as I go but below are a few I took yesterday.

-Scott

Last edited by Vette53; 11-26-2010 at 01:51 PM.
Old 11-26-2010, 10:17 AM
Bills Z06
Race Director

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
St. Jude Donor '07-'08-'09-'10-'11-'12-'13-'14-'15-'16-'17-'18

Beautiful car. Good luck with the build!
Old 11-26-2010, 10:26 AM
Jason