Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Braking advice needed - When and how hard?

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2013, 11:48 AM
s'noJob
Melting Slicks

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

Default Braking advice needed - When and how hard?

I tried several searches, but the results were so generic, (and most of them were ads for brakes,) so I thought I'd just post my questions.

I am a novice on the track, and I'm sure I'd do better if I had a more thorough understanding of braking procedures.

Fear of spinning out, fading, and/or boiling my DOT-4 fluid has me braking early and moderately - robbing me of time and speed. I find myself doing a lot of coasting before a curve.

I feel as though my car is capable of much more braking tolerance than I'm applying, but I don't know how to learn to utilize them better.

Many tracks have the 100s of feet (yards?) warning signs before a curve, but I don't know how to use them.

Regarding braking pressure, do I need to learn to brake till just before ABS kicks in?

Is there a Braking 101 thread out there that can help, or any advice you can offer?

Thanks.

By the way, this is my daily driver, so adding racing brakes is really not in the cards. Plus you can see why I am interested in preserving my ride.

Old 09-02-2013, 11:53 AM
AU N EGL
Team Owner

Received 25 Likes on 25 Posts

ABS is your friend

Depending on the speeds, your brake pads, your front tires.

your ***** too

Practice

normally brake HARD AND AS SHORT OF DISTANCE AS POSSIBLE.
Old 09-02-2013, 12:36 PM
Short-Throw
Le Mans Master
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts

Originally Posted by s'noJob
Many tracks have the 100s of feet (yards?) warning signs before a curve, but I don't know how to use them.
Here's something I mention in all the classes I teach: