Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Setting up C5Z suspension for aero

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2015, 06:56 AM
StreetSpeed
Pro

Received 28 Likes on 22 Posts

Default Setting up C5Z suspension for aero

Hey Folks,

I've decided to take the plunge and add aero to my ST2 car. Installed Tracspec hood louvers today, I have all components arriving Tuesday to make my own splitter, and a Kognition wing coming in a few weeks.

My question is are there immediate and obvious things that need to happen to suspension to work with the added down force? Ride height? Rake?

My suspension setup is :
VBP extreme front
Stock C5Z rear
LG sways
DRM Bilsteins

Anything I should obviously change on the suspension?
Old 07-11-2015, 01:13 PM
crimlwC6
Drifting

Received 52 Likes on 47 Posts

I'm far from an expert, but my 2 cents is you seem setup okay for aero and you should run the car before making any changes. Be sure to use good tires to get the most accurate data after adding aero.
Old 07-11-2015, 02:10 PM
brkntrxn
Drifting

Received 51 Likes on 42 Posts

Crank your ride height way up. That stock rear spring is going to allow the aero to bottom out your car.
Old 07-11-2015, 02:38 PM
zigspeed10
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

You will want a higher spring rate in the rear than stock to avoid running on the bump stops.

Consider getting stiffer springs and proper shock valving to go with them and get the car dialed in prior to adding the aero. It will help you get the aero balanced once you add it.
Old 07-11-2015, 04:10 PM
StreetSpeed
Pro

Originally Posted by zigspeed10
You will want a higher spring rate in the rear than stock to avoid running on the bump stops.