Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Should I run on a road coarse...help!!

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2016, 10:29 AM
Sirk17
Burning Brakes

Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts
Default Should I run on a road coarse...help!!

I have the opportunity to run on a road coarse with a bunch of exotics for a private event at Palm Beach international Speedway to be specific. Im not sure if its a timed event or if there would be multiple cars running. I have a twin turbo C5 z06 that it not really set up for a road coarse. Its really a street car...has been lowered on true summer street tires and is running a low dust possible ceramic pad. I guess my question is other than out right wrecking the car what other issues should I be aware of before I make the call to take a lap or two. Also I have NO road coarse experiences.
Old 06-13-2016, 10:36 AM
Racer86
Safety Car

Received 376 Likes on 180 Posts

Your making a big step. If you park the ego, you can enjoy the day. Tell people about your lack of experience and my bet is they will help you .do not try to show anyone how fast you think your car is. My bet is it will overheat if you really try to go fast. Find someone that will do a lead and follow or better get a ride in another car before you go out in your car. Get an instructor to ride with you, and listen to him. Possibly download a map of the track and try to learn about it before you arrive.
Stuff comes at you very fast on track, not a great place to get confused.
With these thoughts, I say, GO,
Old 06-13-2016, 12:14 PM
insertclevername
Instructor

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

You will need to upgrade the brakes, pads, high temp dot4 fluid at minimum.