Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

trailex manual winch - how to mount to load corvette

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2019, 06:23 PM
jkg2101
Racer

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

Default trailex manual winch - how to mount to load corvette

I am new to trailering - just bought a used 8045 trailex open trailer. i would like to get their manual winch - i hear it is not bad to load the car this way. i plan to get a 'bridle' that mounts to the front frame slots, and perhaps use a block of wood under the front to keep this bridle from hitting the front air dam/lip of my C6 Z06, as I have read others have done on this forum.

I think the winch will work better if it is mounted down very low on the trailer, but their manual winch has to mount on this "perch" so it is above the floor of the trailer

has anyone used a manual winch on a trailex with a C6 or C7 corvette? is it going to work without destroying the front air dam?

On a separate note, it looks like the trailer I bought has the axles slid a bit toward the back of the trailer, to accommodate a rear engined car (original owner must have been a porsche guy - having the axles further back helps them get better tongue weight). For me to have a good tongue weight, i need the Z06 to be pretty far back on the trailer. it is not hanging off the back but the back of the car is pretty much at the back of the trailer. the rear tires are not too close to the edge fortunately. i dont want to put the work in now to move the axles a foot forward, and I dont think I need to put the car backwards on the trailer. i do have a good tongue weight now (450 lbs roughly). Anyone have any thoughts?

justin
Old 05-20-2019, 06:27 PM
jkg2101
Racer

Here are some pics

Old 05-20-2019, 06:31 PM
jkg2101
Racer