Sponsored by:

Bushings

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2016, 04:40 PM
mikes c3
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bushings

I need to replace the trailing arm bushings in my 78. I've never done this before. Some concern with shims. Any tricks/tips/advice I need to know?
Thanks in advance.

Mike
Old 02-18-2016, 05:07 PM
mortgageguy
Burning Brakes

Received 132 Likes on 115 Posts

Start soaking in penetrant two weeks in advance. Including shock mount. I had more trouble with the shock mount than the TA bolts. Keep track of the shims as you remove them. Put them back exactly as they came out, specifically which side and how many and thickness. There are YouTube videos by Gary Vosberg that are excellent for removing TAs .

Last edited by mortgageguy; 02-18-2016 at 05:10 PM.
The following users liked this post:
mikes c3 (02-18-2016)
Old 02-18-2016, 07:10 PM
313hitman
Instructor

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

i tried soaking mine for days. hell, I used heat and still ended up cutting them off. keep a sawzall with long blades handy just in case. you might be ok if the car doesnt have much rust in that area.
Old 02-18-2016, 07:33 PM
DUB
Race Director

Received 2,713 Likes on 2,321 Posts

Originally Posted by mikes c3
I need to replace the trailing arm bushings in my 78. I've never done this before. Some concern with shims. Any tricks/tips/advice I need to know?
Thanks in advance.

Mike
Mike,
Do not sweat the shims...they more than likely going to change. It happens and that will be corrected when you get the rear aligned...WHICH YOU BETTER DO! This area is dealing with the toe of the alignment...and it is IMPORTANT. So if you think you are going to install new bushings and put shims in and be done...GUESS AGAIN.

I personally/professionally do not waste my time with penetrating oils. I jump right in and get the shims out....and if the bolts does not move..I cut it out....using a sawsall