Is this an LT1....?
Jun 5, 2016 | 10:06 AM
Thread Starter
Drifting
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,857
Likes: 332
From: Cartersville GA
Is this an LT1....?
The seller doesn't even mention LT1 or if the motor is original or not....? It's rough but if the frame is solid it could be a nice build.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Chevrolet-Corvette-t-top/172224568455?_trksid=p2045573.c100034.m2102&_trkparms=aid%3D222007%26algo%3DSIC.MBE%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D20131003150253%26meid%3D7a5c0c50799b4a2db49b4793e369dbe2%26pid%3D100034%26rk%3D2%26rkt%3D8%26sd%3D182145689828
Brian
Jun 5, 2016 | 10:09 AM
Le Mans Master
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 5,438
Likes: 1,254
From: Sarver Pa
2021 C1 of the Year Finalist - Modified
Jun 5, 2016 | 10:30 AM
Drifting
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,866
Likes: 140
From: Sadieville Kentucky
Quote:
The seller doesn't even mention LT1 or if the motor is original or not....? It's rough but if the frame is solid it could be a nice build.
Chevrolet Corvette T Top | eBay
Brian
Brian
I spoke to this old guy he is checking some #s and will call me back he has 4 corvettes 5 chevelle's and 4 camero's in a barn and too disabled to work on them .I will let you know what he says
Wes
Jun 5, 2016 | 10:53 AM
Instructor
Joined: May 2015
Posts: 118
Likes: 28
From: California
2016 C4 of Year Finalist
The interior spec plate says 9.0:1 compression ratio, that was the lt1 ratio in '71 wasn't it?
Last edited by Tubbafatt; Jun 5, 2016 at 10:56 AM .
Jun 5, 2016 | 11:18 AM
Burning Brakes
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 817
Likes: 11
From: lewisburg wv
The car was probably a LT-1. The engine suffix would be CGZ if original. The 9.0 compression and 6500 RPM redline are clues also.
Jun 5, 2016 | 12:06 PM
Team Owner
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 31,285
Likes: 4,374
From: Westminster Maryland
Hi,
The single fuel line is encouraging.
Who ever would consider taking this on better have a serious tool box and even more serious wallet!
Regards,
Alan
Last edited by Alan 71; Jun 5, 2016 at 12:10 PM .
Jun 5, 2016 | 01:42 PM
Drifting
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,346
Likes: 160
From: new iberia la
I would be suspicious of the required " BANK WIRE TRANSFER " of payment, no Paypal allowed... lot of scams out there ..
Jun 5, 2016 | 01:58 PM
Drifting
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,866
Likes: 140
From: Sadieville Kentucky
Quote:
Originally Posted by
fishslayer143
I would be suspicious of the required " BANK WIRE TRANSFER " of payment, no Paypal allowed... lot of scams out there ..
Call him and I think you will agree he is not a scammer just doesn't like pay pal like me .he will take cash .
10 Ugly Corvettes That We Still Kinda Love
Joe Kucinski
Top 10 Most Expensive Corvettes Ever Sold on Bring A Trailer
Brett Foote
10 Things Every Corvette Owner Needs (2026 Edition)
Michael S. Palmer
8 Most "Only Corvette Owners Understand" Quirks and Problems
Pouria Savadkouei
10 Reasons the C6 Z06 is Still A Performance Benchmark After 20 Years
Joe Kucinski
How Much Horsepower Every Corvette Engine "LOST" in 1972
Joe Kucinski
Top 10 DOs and DON'Ts for Protecting Your Convertible Top!
Michael S. Palmer
Top 10 Most Explosive Corvettes Ever Made: Power-to-Weight Ratio Ranked!
Joe Kucinski
150 hp to 1,250 hp: Every Corvette Generation Compared by the Specs That Matter
Joe Kucinski
8 Coolest Corvette Pace Cars (and Replicas) of All Time
Verdad Gallardo
Jun 5, 2016 | 02:30 PM
Thread Starter
Drifting
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,857
Likes: 332
From: Cartersville GA
I don't have the funds or the space to restore it...Thought someone might be interested.
Brian
Jun 5, 2016 | 02:43 PM
Drifting
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,866
Likes: 140
From: Sadieville Kentucky
Quote:
I don't have the funds or the space to restore it...Thought someone might be interested.
Brian
Brian I may stop by to look at it on my way back from Dallas wed and solve the mystery seller says he has several C 3 corvettes for sale
Wes
Jun 5, 2016 | 03:10 PM
Thread Starter
Drifting
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,857
Likes: 332
From: Cartersville GA
Wes....I'm about 65 miles south of Chattanooga if you stop by see what if any parts he has for sale.
Brian
Jun 5, 2016 | 04:12 PM
Drifting
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,346
Likes: 160
From: new iberia la
Quote:
Originally Posted by
530planeman
Call him and I think you will agree he is not a scammer just doesn't like pay pal like me .he will take cash .
That's what someone I know thought too about an EBAY car...long story short, $13000 wire transfer...no car ever was delivered..just sayin.... be careful...
Jun 5, 2016 | 04:50 PM
Drifting
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,875
Likes: 779
From: Persona Non Grata
2022 C3 of the Year Finalist - Unmodified
Appears to be, tho all the cautions made, including especially Alan's, LOL, need be followed.
Jun 5, 2016 | 08:04 PM
Pro
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 550
Likes: 58
From: Columbus Mississippi
Trim tag has 417 as interior color. That SHOULD be Saddle vinly....it has black interior ?
I would be curious ...and interested if this is a LT1 car.
Jun 5, 2016 | 09:03 PM
Thread Starter
Drifting
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,857
Likes: 332
From: Cartersville GA
He discloses in the add that the interior has been dyed black.
Brian
Jun 5, 2016 | 09:08 PM
Pro
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 550
Likes: 58
From: Columbus Mississippi
Quote:
He discloses in the add that the interior has been dyed black.
Brian
I should read more. My bad.
Jun 6, 2016 | 10:25 AM
Burning Brakes
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 817
Likes: 11
From: lewisburg wv
See that the bid is up to $4000.00 and reserve has been met
Jun 6, 2016 | 10:36 AM
Safety Car
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,849
Likes: 367
From: PHOENIX AZ. WHAT A MAN WON"T SPEND TO GIVE HIS ASS A RIDE
From what I see I do think it was a factory LT-1 but it would cost more than the price of buying a done one to put this back together.
Jun 6, 2016 | 10:46 AM
Safety Car
Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 4,355
Likes: 2,633
From: Draper Utah
Jun 6, 2016 | 10:35 PM
Thread Starter
Drifting
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,857
Likes: 332
From: Cartersville GA
I went back to see what it sold far and found this older ad from the same seller....This smells a little fishy because when asked on the phone he claimed to not know if the engine was original or not...but in this ad he claims it is an LT1 but NOM.....?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Chevrolet-Co...m=172213676978
Brian