Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Supporting The Vette

Old 06-21-2018, 12:07 AM
Burning Brakes
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 36 Likes on 34 Posts
Default Supporting The Vette

My dad was a mechanic by trade and always stressed to me the importance of jack stands when a vehicle is up on a jack. I get it! My 68 has, by far, made me the most nervous about crawling around under it when it's up in the air. I often have all four wheels in the air, supporting it with four jack stands. And more often than not I leave the jack "just" engaged under the front cross member. Long story long... today I lifted the front and put a pair of stands in the lowest position under the front frame area, behind the front wheels. I raised the rear higher than the front and placed stands under the rear frame, in front of the rear wheels. I went back to the front and raised it higher. I raised the stands accordingly and started to lower it, slowly. The front started to slide off of the jack stands to my right (the cars left). I pumped the jack quickly and caught it between the front crossmember and the passenger a-arm. Disclaimer - I was using rags on the tops of the stands because I don't want to scratch the frame. I ditched the rags and did it again. The car was sturdy, my confidence about getting under it... not so much. What I'd like to know is how you fellow members are supporting your cars in the air and feeling confident about crawling under them. What are you using? Where are you placing your supports? I've got myself freaked out about that thing crashing down on me now. What's the best way to do this (short of buying a quick lift or something similar that I don't have room for)? Thanks in advance, Jason
Old 06-21-2018, 12:44 AM
persuader
Drifting

Received 88 Likes on 51 Posts