Rusty c3, I need guidance.

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2019, 12:44 AM
1970camaro
7th Gear

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Rusty c3, I need guidance.

Body mount bolt #2

Drivers side under t top trim. This looks somewhat fresh.

Behind guages

These are my very sad looking guages.
Im a vette newbie, and I traded a 240z for my 69 350 l46 4 speed car. The frame had been gone through and powder coated as well as all suspension. The muncie had been rebuilt, and the rear end with new u joints etc. I have worked on camaros and chevelles and when those have rust its not hidden like in this stingray. I looked in the kick panels and there appears to be some rust, I actually think they are not too bad. But the rust is overwhelming. I guess my question at this point is do I need to find a birdcage or is this repairable? I know my guages are trash already. Please excuse me if this is something others have asked, but I want to know what you guys who know these cars think.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by 1970camaro; 04-12-2019 at 12:51 AM.
Old 04-12-2019, 02:32 AM
Jon Hekking
Race Director

Received 241 Likes on 128 Posts
2020 C3 of the Year Finalist - Unmodified
2019 C3 of Year Finalist (stock)

Wow, all I can say is yikes as I would have run after seeing those gauges and what looks like more rust in the steering column. The bird cage in these things can’t be patched together, I would be looking for a new one and hope there’s enough integrity left to hold it. Good luck this looks like a tough one.
The following users liked this post:
61grandsport (04-18-2019)
Old 04-12-2019, 06:05 AM
AllC34Me

Support Corvetteforum!

Received 2,031 Likes on 1,103 Posts
St. Jude Donor '10