Sponsored by:

Soft Brake Pedal.

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2021, 04:20 PM
miked123
Instructor

Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Soft Brake Pedal.

The brake pedal on my 74 Vette has gotten very soft in the last month or so. I checked the reservoir and the 2nd reservoir is extremely low and I found the leak at the Rear Right Caliper. It is leaking extremely bad now.

What fluid should I put in the Reservoir? I Know it is DOT-3 fluid, but unsure of what brand I should put in)
Also, I have never worked on the brake system before, so should I let an experienced person do this?

Last edited by miked123; 08-07-2023 at 09:05 PM.
Old 12-26-2021, 05:34 PM
4-vettes
Le Mans Master

Received 4,699 Likes on 2,834 Posts
2022 C3 of the Year Finalist - Modified
Cruise-In VIII Veteran

If you have no idea, you could read up on rebuilding Calipers and rebuild that Caliper yourself. However I have no way of knowing your mechanical skills and abilities.
When in doubt, get a replacement Lone Star Caliper and have a experienced corvette mechanic install it or help you install it.
Any Dot 3 or 4 brake fluid is fine as long as previous owner did not convert it to dot 5.
Tip, Dot 3 and 4 smell like brake fluid. Dot 5 has no smell.
Old 12-26-2021, 08:09 PM
ralphspears
Melting Slicks

Received 779 Likes on 403 Posts

Where do you live maybe a nearby member could help you.
Old 12-28-2021, 10:25 AM
pltmgr
Drifting
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 361 Likes on 217 Posts

I recently viewed on youtube a easy way to determine if you have DOT 5 or not. Place some of the brake fluid from the master cylinder in a jar and add a small amount of water. If it is absorbed you don't have DOT 5.

I use any brand DOT 3.
The following 2 users liked this post by pltmgr:
67:72 (12-29-2021), interpon (01-01-2022)
Old 12-29-2021, 08:48 AM
hdeyong
Racer

Received 173 Likes on 79 Posts