C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Road Course Junkies, Let's compare notes

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2005, 08:34 PM
turtlevette
Melting Slicks

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
St. Jude Donor '03,'11

Default Road Course Junkies, Let's compare notes

I have been running about 2 events per year for the last 5 years so i still don't have a lot of seat time. I run the DE events only, where you are not racing just practice. My club has very strict rules. You need to get a point by before passing. The second day is timed runs only, no door to door racing.

I have named myself turtle because i have trouble keeping up with the new cars and EVERYBODY runs newer cars. However we have some very talented drivers in the club and most of the regulars are very good.

I run in the street stock class where you are not supposed to do anything to your car. I want to find out what everyone else is doing and decide whether i should do some mods so i can be more respectable out there.

I'm going to run some 27/10/15s NASCAR racing tires as an experiment to see if i can get some better grip. These tires can be bought used for around 20 bucks each.....i do NOT want to spend 1200 bucks on tires.

I need to do something about the tendency of the car to oversteer. It sucks majorly when the back end kicks out at 80mph.

Anyway lets don't dwell on me. I want to hear what everyone else is doing, videos whatever. We need to band together and help each other so we will look respectable out there.

Last edited by turtlevette; 04-06-2006 at 08:52 PM.
Old 08-24-2005, 08:59 PM
DonBecker
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have a mostly stock 76, and haven't done much performance wise to it. Rebuilt front and rear suspension with Poly.

I don't really know how to get involved with the road course stuff, but I'd love to.