C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Overheats when ideling

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2005, 09:32 AM
69patron
Cruising

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Overheats when ideling

Greetings, I'll try not to sound too dumbfounded as I am a newbie!

I recently purchased a 69 base model 350/300 vette just about completely restored. I am having problems with it overheating when going under about 30mph or ideling, temps running 230-245+. At highway speeds temps is fine, typically temps 180-200. I have receipts (and know the guy well) from whom I boiught it from and it has a brand new radiator, temp sender, thermostat (180), water pump, and fan shroud. A thermometer verifys the temp, so it's not the display guage.
Intristingly, when it gets real hot, if I rev the engine for 30 sec or so the temp drops. Someone suggested if that happens the impellers in the water pump could be bad, but the water pump was replaced?
Any ideas??????Help please-
Andy
Old 10-14-2005, 09:35 AM
vettepilot68
Pro

You didnt mention a new fan clutch...I suspect this may be the cause.
Old 10-14-2005, 09:37 AM
big_G
Le Mans Master

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I would check the fan clutch. If it is original, it may be weak. That would account for good cooling when moving.
Old 10-14-2005, 10:04 AM
BlueL36
Le Mans Master

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Cruise-In V Veteran
Cruise-In VI Veteran

You didn't mention the foam seals around the radiator. Those are needed to help the fan draw the air through the radiator and not around it.
Old 10-14-2005, 10:20 AM
69patron
Cruising

I did forget to mention the fan clutch, That was suspected, thought to be bad and replaced.
Not too sure about the foam seal around the radiator, is that basically just a seal adjoining/between the shroud and the radiator?
I really appreciate the suggestions!
Old 10-14-2005, 10:32 AM
BlueL36
Le Mans Master