C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Air Conditioning

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2001, 07:37 PM
Ship1
Navigator

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Air Conditioning

I have a '73 that came with AC but didn't work. Fan would not engage, so I trashed it. Now, 12 years later it has ocurred to myself (and my wife) that AC would be a nice thing to have to get more use from the car.

Two questions: Any idea of what it would cost to install AC? Can I buy a used system off of any year or should I go with new?

[Modified by Ship1, 5:38 PM 8/9/2001]
Old 08-09-2001, 09:02 PM
R. Bruno
Drifting

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Air Conditioning (Ship1)

I am not an expert on AC but have gained some knowledge investigating and eventually getting mine repaired. The years up to mid-year 76 have a different compressor than the earlier cars. If you still have the brackets for yours you will need the early style compressor which I am told are better anyway. The price really depends on what you still have and what "modifications" you did removing it. I can tell you that this will be expensive. If you go good quality rebuilt parts and need just the compressor, accumulator/drier and hoses and have someone install and fill the system with R-134 you are talking $800+ give or take depending on the costs in your area. This does not include the fan repair if that is shot. Perhaps someone on the forum has a system that is in good shape that they are willing to part with?
Old 08-09-2001, 11:02 PM
jeffnles1
Pro

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Re: Air Conditioning (R. Bruno)