C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1976 Stingray DIY Project w/ pics

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2011, 07:31 PM
vancouver_riots
8th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1976 Stingray DIY Project w/ pics

This is my first post on this site and I want to thank everyone for the large amount of info I have already received just by reading your posts.

This is my first project car.

I have worked on various parts of other newer vehicles in the past but never on anything that needed such thorough restoration.

The Good:

-Matching numbers.
-The price.
-Chassis is a little dirty but decent shape.
-Body is beautiful. Targa. Needs paint and seals but that is all.
-Engine is a 350, 4 barrel with 75k miles, starts and runs well.
-A/C
-Auto-trans. Understandably a bad thing depending on driver.
-New tires.
-Chromed wheel covers, air intake, distributer cover, valve covers.

The Bad:

-I have a single garage and limited tools.
-No Brakes, think it’s the lines because the emergency brake works fine.
-Drivers side lock mechanism and exterior handle broken, have replacement for lock. Windows sluggish and probably need readjusting along with doors.
-New door panels needed, previous owner ripped these ones apart trying to open doors without functional locks.
-Rear suspension is shot, the leaf is almost concave and the absorbers must be done by now as well.
-Differential: leaking from the left yoke and carrier cover is cracked right where the spring mounts. I was told that the previous owner had it towed onto a flatbed by hooking it up to the leaf. L
-Rust on drivers side floor pan.
-3 small leaks of transmission fluid, oil and coolant. Pretty sure the gaskets are to blame, maybe a water pump replacement is also needed (the coolant leak seems to be from the weep hole).
-Odometer and gauge cluster are non-functional.
-Lots of clean up on undercarriage.