C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Question about checking pushrod length

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-2011, 06:59 PM
scottyp99
Le Mans Master

Received 62 Likes on 52 Posts

Default Question about checking pushrod length

Hi, folks,
I am not a total newb, I have assembled a couple engines, but I have never checked pushrod length. I would like to ask everybody on the forum who has done it, do you need to check all 16, and then, like, take the average, or what? Can I just use a pushrod checking tool on one rocker, and call that the pushrod length? And, can you do it with no head gasket, and then just figure the compressed gasket thickness into the length of the new pushrods? Thanks,

Scott
Old 11-12-2011, 10:13 PM
cardo0
Le Mans Master

Received 373 Likes on 356 Posts

Default Here's how i did mine.

I just used an old stock p-rod and a Moroso checker tool (ProForm sells these also) - like $10. I tried using the adjustable p-rod but with the engine in the car is was a big waste of time. IMHO the adj p-rod is for the serious builder with the engine on a stand while the checker tool is fine for most of us. All u need is to get the rocker tip center so it doesn't side load the vlv stem. There's no measurement numbers for this.
The checker tool is snap - just measure with a feeler gauge on the side with space. If space is between p-rod and rocker arm then stock p-rod is too short by the feeler gauge distance. If the space is between the valve tip and the rocker arm - then the stock p-rod is too long and needs to be shorter by the feeler gauge distance.

Why do u want to measure this without a head gasket? It just makes it 10 times more complicated. Just wait until u get the heads on with gaskets and torqued, then measure for p-rod length. I would only be able to guess how to measure p-rod length using a checker tool but without the head gasket.