C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Window Dippers

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2016, 11:07 PM
Gale Banks 80'
Melting Slicks

Received 384 Likes on 312 Posts

Default Window Dippers

I'm currently on vacation and have a new Dodge Challenger as a rental car. No its not a Hellcat. Anyway when You open and close the Doors the Windows dip down a 1/2" and then when the Door is closed they go back up sealing the gap. I think a lot of modern cars do this including Corvettes. I have been doing this manually on my 80 for the last 36 years or so. When I did the Nevada 100 I didn't get it rolled up in time and the vacuum sucked the glass out for the next 89 miles. I think this would be kinda a neat future on our cars. Has anybody done it ? Do the new OEM's do it with some sort of controller or is it just part of the ECM ?
Old 11-12-2016, 09:04 PM
wendellp601
Safety Car

Received 188 Likes on 149 Posts

Originally Posted by Gale Banks 80'
I'm currently on vacation and have a new Dodge Challenger as a rental car. No its not a Hellcat. Anyway when You open and close the Doors the Windows dip down a 1/2" and then when the Door is closed they go back up sealing the gap. I think a lot of modern cars do this including Corvettes. I have been doing this manually on my 80 for the last 36 years or so. When I did the Nevada 100 I didn't get it rolled up in time and the vacuum sucked the glass out for the next 89 miles. I think this would be kinda a neat future on our cars. Has anybody done it ? Do the new OEM's do it with some sort of controller or is it just part of the ECM ?
The windows in most modern cars are actually controlled by the BCM, or body control module. The automotive assembly plant where I work has them installed inside the dash.
Old 11-13-2016, 10:13 AM
lionelhutz
Race Director

Received 845 Likes on 721 Posts