C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

69 Parking Brake Adjustment

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2017, 04:15 PM
Hayes69
Racer

Received 23 Likes on 23 Posts
Default 69 Parking Brake Adjustment

Just got my first C3 (pics to come )and the parking break pulls the cable but doesn't get tight enough to hold the car. In my service manuals it says to rotate the rear discs until the hole lines up with the adjustment screw. The problem I'm having is that when I rotate the rotor, whatever it is behind the hole moves with the rotor.

I'm a car novice, but fairly handy and a quick learner. Hoping this will be a simple job to get started.

Thanks everyone.
Old 06-22-2017, 04:39 PM
Hayes69
Racer

Found this thread: https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums...ustment-3.html

I'm wondering if my brakes are stuck in the "on" position. Guess I need to remove the rotors, but not sure how difficult that will be if the PB is malfunctioning.
Old 06-22-2017, 04:44 PM
Alan 71
Team Owner

Received 2,878 Likes on 2,515 Posts

Hi H,
You need to position the adjustment hole so it's at the 6 o'clock position on the hub.

Insert your screwdriver and feel for the notches in the 'star' adjuster.
When the screwdriver is engaged move your hand and end of the screwdriver up, (away from the floor,) this rotates the 'star' and adjusts the shoes.

Tighten until the rotor will not move and then 'back-off' 6-8 notches.

Hope that the shoes aren't 'frozen' in place.
Regards,
Alan

Rotate until hole is at the bottom.

Rotor removed so you can see the shoes and adjuster.

Shoes at top.

Adjustment at bottom… rotate 'star' so it turns counter-clockwise.

Last edited by Alan 71; 06-22-2017 at 04:47 PM.
Old 06-22-2017, 04:52 PM
Hayes69
Racer

Originally Posted by Alan 71
Hi H,
You need to position the adjustment hole so it's at the 6 o'clock position on the hub.