C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Big Block Headers vs. Stock Manifolds

Old 08-09-2017, 11:41 AM
pl2000n
Instructor

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Big Block Headers vs. Stock Manifolds

My L36 rebuild is nearly complete and I'm debating on whether to go with headers or stick with the stock manifolds. I'm not a fabricator of any sort nor do I want to make any changes to current frame/body configuration. I'm thinking shorties or mid-length headers might fit nicely but I have no experience. I'd appreciate recommendations on specific headers, or none at all if the entire concept is a PITA. I'm also shopping for nice sounding mufflers Thank you very much!
Old 08-09-2017, 12:47 PM
v2racing
Melting Slicks

Received 287 Likes on 236 Posts

Did you do any performance upgrades to the engine? Are you looking for better performance? Is looking stock under the hood important to you?

Mike
Old 08-09-2017, 12:52 PM
Les
Race Director

Received 961 Likes on 571 Posts

Originally Posted by pl2000n
My L36 rebuild is nearly complete and I'm debating on whether to go with headers or stick with the stock manifolds. I'm not a fabricator of any sort nor do I want to make any changes to current frame/body configuration. I'm thinking shorties or mid-length headers might fit nicely but I have no experience. I'd appreciate recommendations on specific headers, or none at all if the entire concept is a PITA. I'm also shopping for nice sounding mufflers Thank you very much!