C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Made my new traction bar.

Old 10-22-2017, 12:22 PM
v2racing
Melting Slicks

Received 287 Likes on 236 Posts

Default Made my new traction bar.

The traction bar I made came out perfect. I welded a bung in the frame to bolt to and made tabs and welded on the spring mount plate. I got the ends and the tube from Speedway Motors. I used the 1/2" size ends.

Mike

Old 10-22-2017, 01:08 PM
JoeMinnesota
Pro

Received 148 Likes on 128 Posts

Nice - I am still learning C3 suspension and about to go through the back half this winter. So, this traction bar holds the rear spring perch stationary and will it help plant tires, or eliminate wheel hop, or both? I have a 1970 and have recently warmed the motor. Will regear to 3.70 this winter. Are these cars prone to wheel hop like the conventional Camaro and Nova set-ups?
Old 10-22-2017, 01:57 PM
cardo0
Le Mans Master

Received 373 Likes on 356 Posts

Nice work but I think the center carrier remains fairly planted on launch. It does have 2 huge cushions on the ends of the carrier cross piece (or whatever it's called) and I don't expect much travel from those.

It's the trailing arms that need to be stabilized. Most aftermarket fixes are links from the center carrier to the trailing arms at the axle housings. They seem to mostly add friction or dampening to the trailing arms.

But now you have a good mount for a driveshaft loop.

Last edited by cardo0; 10-22-2017 at 01:59 PM.
Old 10-22-2017, 07:15 PM
DUB
Race Director

Received 2,713 Likes on 2,321 Posts