C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Body Repair Advice

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2018, 12:47 PM
D3lta481
Navigator

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Body Repair Advice

I am to the point of figuring out what I need to do to fix the body on my 76.

The front end of the car had a prior shunt that impacted forward of the front wheels and has, due to some bubba repair in the past been fixed around 1.5 inches to the right of the car. This means the front bumper will not fit and a few minor tire clearance issues at full lock.

I am new to working on cars and fiberglass work so I am looking for advice on the processes to fix this damage and repair the bad repair left by prior owners. Pictures of everything I could think of and find are given in the post of the affected areas.

To describe it, the driver side front end forward of the wheel well was completely collapse and apparently repaired with overuse of what looks like a resin and body filler that has left holes in the body towards the very front end and left the inner wing still crumpled. The mating joint at the front driver side of the hood area has been fixed with resin to be incorrect and as far as I can tell holding the body in the right offset position. The flanges for the mounting of the front bumper are mostly destroyed on the left side and un-repaired while the right hand side has some minor damage at the crease point in the body.

There are also a fair number of oil/grease stains that were left on the body from prior owner that can be seen in the pictures.