C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1968 ignition switch noob question

Old 06-12-2019, 07:30 PM
Tom_K
Instructor

Received 31 Likes on 16 Posts
Default 1968 ignition switch noob question

1968 BB conv.
Did my switch just go bad?.
car turned off while driving- then turn back on (big boom out sidepipes)

Got it home and Car didn’t tune off with key ..
did amd 3rd try

i assume the key key switch is bad.
Is that correct. - this is a dash mounted key switch

if bad, is there any secret or issues replacing it?

Seams like a simple job.

thanks.
Old 06-13-2019, 06:45 AM
terrys6t8roadster
Melting Slicks

Received 337 Likes on 280 Posts

You do know about turning the key to accessory position, then inserting paper clip into small hole to extract tumblers? T
Old 06-13-2019, 06:54 AM
Tom_K
Instructor

Hmmmm? No,
I am fairly new to the Corvette world.

How does that relate to getting the switch to work properly? or does removal via this method allow for inspection and fix?
Old 06-13-2019, 11:04 AM
carriljc
Le Mans Master

Received 877 Likes on 762 Posts

Also check the wiring around the starter. When my 68 had similar symptoms it ended up being the wiring down there. While fixing that I also discovered that I had an intermittent short in the starter solenoid which would cause the battery to drain.... I had a heck of a time finding that.

Originally Posted by Tom_K
Hmmmm? No,
I am fairly new to the Corvette world.

How does that relate to getting the switch to work properly? or does removal via this method allow for inspection and fix?
Old 06-13-2019, 11:59 AM
Tom_K
Instructor

Just went through starter wiring, all looks good.

On the Ig. Switch, is it typically the key tumbler or the switch that fails?

Do I simply replace both?
Old 06-13-2019, 12:19 PM
Rescue Rogers
Dementer sole survivor

Support Corvetteforum!

Received 6,252 Likes on 3,901 Posts