C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Replacing Speedo cable in 79

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2003, 04:40 PM
L82-JWS
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Replacing Speedo cable in 79

anyone have any experience they can share? I guess my major issue is getting cable off the back of speedo......looking for the correct procedure to do that, never been inside the dash. Any help is appreciated. :confused:
Old 06-09-2003, 04:45 PM
groovyjay
Le Mans Master

Received 169 Likes on 91 Posts

Default Re: Replacing Speedo cable in 79 (L82-JWS)

Is your car auto or manual? Do you have Cruise control? It is more than likely that you have 2 piece cable, one coming from speedo to transducer and from transducer to transmission. The trickiest bit can be the speedo. If you are willing to remove the steering wheel it will give you more room to remove the speedo/tach panel, remember to remove the cable first from the transducer, this will allow you to pull the speedo panel further away and will give you more room to remove the cable. :cheers:
Old 06-09-2003, 04:45 PM
adamdinat
Burning Brakes

Received 6 Likes on 3 Posts

Pull off the lower dash panel and remove the heating duct so you can see. There is a clip on the back of the spedometer. Pushing on the clip release the cable sheath. The new one will snap right in. Be sure to remember how the old cable was routed.
Old 06-09-2003, 04:46 PM
Pete79L82
Drifting

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

There is a clip on the back of the speedo head. Push the clip towards the speedo and pull the cable and it will pop off. I only had to remove the trim panel under the steering column and the a/c duct to be able to reach mine. It is a little tight but you can get your hand in there. The new cable just pushes onto the speedo head until the clip clicks.

[Modified by Pete79L82, 3:47 PM 6/9/2003]
Old 06-09-2003, 11:52 PM
isosceles