C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

427 , 454 merlin block ,help im confused drag racing and time slips.

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2003, 09:06 PM
Wongsifu
8th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 427 , 454 merlin block ,help im confused drag racing and time slips.

Hi , Im a newbie to corvettes but experienced to japanese car tuning. After a few years i feel that modern cars tuning and all the rest of it isnt challenging anymore and i wanted to build a nice 69 vette up.
However due to registration laws in the country i cant import one and have it as a road legal car, since this was always my dream car i decided i would buy a beat up one and make a drag car out of it.
Now obviously i understand next to nothing about the special parts available for these cars , to me 16 different types of intake manifolds with different heights is just as boggling as the 12 different sizes of cylinder head and their different port shapes :confused:
However since i am determined (and ive ordered a couple of smokey yunicks books :D )
I would like some help as a starting point.
Being a bit of a purist i would actually like to build up a 427 original block stroke it to 496 and build it up from there . (as i understand it the 427 and 454 is the same block)
Now my expectations are a bit high , the most powerful cars in our country in the open drag racing category run around 10 sec 1/4 mile times , i think the fastest is 10.3 (all being japanese cars)
Now beating them isnt enough for me so i want to build a non blown or nitrous assisted motor.
Unlike everyone there who has some japanese super car with 100,000k worth of turbocharged goodness.
I figure 700bhp should do the trick, Now i dont think this is feasible on a 427 block without having to rebuild it every other run or risk cracking the block through power or oversizing.