Notices
C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

Help with A/C problem.... PLEASE....

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2002, 10:43 PM
z064ddle
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help with A/C problem.... PLEASE....

I have a 92 LT1, My compressor's clutch doesn't engage when I select any button on the console. The fan is still blowing in all of the selections. The clutch will engage when I wired it directly to the battery and will blow cold air. I thought it was because the freon is low, but I added 2 pounds already. Now, it's very full.

Is there a relay or a fuse or a sensor somewhere which turned bad, that why the clutch won't engage?

Thanks
Old 02-22-2002, 06:25 PM
DON M
Drifting

Default Re: Help with A/C problem.... PLEASE.... (z064ddle)

Sorry for not posting earlier as I thought some one smarter would jump in. I am a Commercial A/C Tech and don't fool with cars very much.
The first thing I would check is the low pressure sensor.
Also 2 lbs of refrigerant may not be enough to make the sensor. The system will blow really cold with a low charge, for a while. As strange as it seems the system will freeze up with a low charge, because the exspansion device cannot regulate the flow properly. If you put a gage on the low side and run the engine, the pressure should be well above 25#, with it running at 2000 rpm. with R-12, 27# converts to 32 deg which is the freezing point of water. About 30# is normal (at 2000 rpm).
Old 02-22-2002, 07:54 PM
z064ddle
Racer

Default Re: Help with A/C problem.... PLEASE.... (DON M)

Thanks Don....... I don't have a guage to measure the pressure, but I think it's very full. When I turned off the engine, the "off" button on the climate control blinks. Does anybody know what that means?

Thanks
Old 02-23-2002, 12:25 PM
Red Dwarf
Melting Slicks

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts

Default Re: Help with A/C problem.... PLEASE.... (z064ddle)

Check ur mail. :cheers:
Old 02-25-2002, 03:03 PM
z064ddle
Racer