Notices
C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

Shop Experience

Old 03-05-2018, 01:07 PM
2LZ
CF Senior Member

Received 36 Likes on 31 Posts
Default Shop Experience

Iíve always done my own work. In my younger years, I was a mechanic at a local auto shop. That said, every time that I took my own car to a shop for work, more often than not, it ended in disappointment. Now that Iím not a spring chicken anymore, I still try to do as much of my own work as the body will allow.
Enter C4 LT1. Iíve been chasing oil leaks for the past year. Iíve done the intake, both oil senders, valve cover gaskets, all three seals on the front and also, the crank sensor o-ring. The only items NOT changed now are the rear main seal and the pan gasket.
I had the car on ramps for a while doing things under it and when I got to the pan decided, ďIím too old for this sót.Ē, so I decided to have a shop do the pan gasket. Besides, itís snowing. Iíd rather be in front of the wood stove with a cocktail.
I got an acceptable quote from a reputable, local shop. Made the appointment and dropped it off at the agreed time. It was supposed to be done the next afternoon. There guy could start on it ďfirst thing in the morningĒ.
About 2:30 the next day, phone rings. No, it wasnít the ďYour car is doneĒ call. It was the upsell call.
Said my opti seal or water pump seal (they werenít sure which) was leaking and they wouldnít do the pan without doing the seals. I told them that you didnít have to remove the timing cover to do the seals. I just changed them and they werenít leaking as of two days ago. After a little while of arguing, I just went and picked up the car because they refused to change the pan gasket unless I approved an additional 800.00 worth of work.
I guess itís going back up on the ramps after it warms up a bit.
Old 03-05-2018, 11:48 PM
aklim
CF Senior Member

Received 844 Likes on 822 Posts