C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

'95 Aging Issues/Concerns

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2018, 12:37 PM
Ruouthere
Instructor

Received 28 Likes on 17 Posts
Default '95 Aging Issues/Concerns

Looking at a '95 convertible with 58K miles on her, trying to understand what aging concerns I should be aware of if we purchased her. With the car 23 years old it will need attention...for something big or just normal routine maintenance? Not talking about weather stripping or upholstery, carpet but mechanical.

Trying to do a trade-off, buy this '95 C4 at a good price and have money in my pocket for replacement parts as needed or buy a very low mileage 2000 C5 at a much high price.

I'm new to all this and looking to buy my first Vette at 60+ for enjoyment with my wife.

Thank-you,
Old 07-10-2018, 12:54 PM
Cool Runnings
Melting Slicks

Received 46 Likes on 43 Posts

Originally Posted by Ruouthere
Looking at a '95 convertible with 58K miles on her, trying to understand what aging concerns I should be aware of if we purchased her. With the car 23 years old it will need attention...for something big or just normal routine maintenance? Not talking about weather stripping or upholstery, carpet but mechanical.

Trying to do a trade-off, buy this '95 C4 at a good price and have money in my pocket for replacement parts as needed or buy a very low mileage 2000 C5 at a much high price.

I'm new to all this and looking to buy my first Vette at 60+ for enjoyment with my wife.

Thank-you,
Bose system
Old 07-10-2018, 01:04 PM
FASTAZU
Race Director

Received 910 Likes on 583 Posts
2020 C3 of the Year Finalist - Unmodified
2019 C4 of Year Finalist (performance mods)
2018 C4 of Year Finalist
2015 C4 of the Year Finalist
St. Jude Donor '16
2020 C3 of the Year Finalist - Unmodified

Get a C5 they are great road cars, 2004 if possible.
Old 07-10-2018, 01:22 PM
JBPC4
Racer

Received 72 Likes on 54 Posts