C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Paper clip to pull codes?

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2005, 12:15 PM
72Shark
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Paper clip to pull codes?

Picked up a sweet 94 LT1 Coupe last week, 1-owner, clean.

The "only" think not quite 100% is this nagging little hesitation/skip/stumble at idle that happens intermittantly. I've searched the forum for the "paper clip" trick to pull codes, but I'm new to the C4 scene (C3'er and C5'er) and need some help how to do this??? I have my paper clip tuned up and ready to go!

Also, where can I find the "index" of what the codes are?

Thanks, glad to be a C4'er now too!!
Old 04-08-2005, 01:30 PM
SilverBeast
Drifting

St. Jude Donor '05

Go here:
http://forums.corvetteforum.com/show...read+obd+codes
Old 04-08-2005, 11:21 PM
Photomania
Drifting

Received 90 Likes on 47 Posts

Default Tried the paper clip trick, but to no avail

I have a Haynes c4 repair book, and it lists the codes. I tried a small wire and I tried a paper clip in the diagnostic center beneath the dash in my 1990 six-speed C4. I did exactly what Haynes said to do, but I got no codes. After several attempts, I gave up. -- Eric
Old 04-09-2005, 12:27 AM
jabez
Race Director

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by Photomania
I have a Haynes c4 repair book, and it lists the codes. I tried a small wire and I tried a paper clip in the diagnostic center beneath the dash in my 1990 six-speed C4. I did exactly what Haynes said to do, but I got no codes. After several attempts, I gave up. -- Eric
What do you mean "you got no codes"?
Did you remember to turn key to on position?
You should have seen your dash with flashing dashes after shorting A & B.

Try this too. Short A & G. You should see numbers flash on your speedometer.
Old 04-09-2005, 12:46 AM
rws.1
Race Director

Received 27 Likes on 21 Posts