C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Help me understand this Datamaster Scan

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2007, 08:54 PM
Big Willy
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help me understand this Datamaster Scan

Forum,

I’m new to ECM/PCM scanning. This is my first. I’m looking for inputs on my Datamaster Scan (Version 3.5.1). This scan was all done at idle. I uploaded 3 pictures with the beginning, middle, and end of the scan. In the beginning all is smooth until my spark advance goes nuts and the idle gets rather unsteady.

Car:
89 Coupe All Stock

Problem:
After the car warms up for a minute the idle is rough. Constant rise and fall. Vibrations

What I notice in my scan:
AFGS is High…..7.7 – 11. Should be 4 – 7.
Spark Advance goes nuts… Rapid and constant flucuations
L and S Term Counts drop. S returns but L stays at 108…. Should be 118 – 138.
O2 Volt goes nuts…Rapid and constant flucuations.

I’ve given this to you guys because I don’t know exactly what it’s telling me.
Any Theories?

Thanks
Big *****
Old 09-04-2007, 09:08 PM
tequilaboy
Melting Slicks

Received 255 Likes on 213 Posts

Can't see the pics. Only red x's here.
Old 09-04-2007, 09:10 PM
Big Willy
Instructor

Sorry about the pictures. I don't know what happen. I inserted links. Copy and paste these links into your browser to view. I can't seem to upload the pictures. Sorry Again.

http://www2.snapfish.com/slideshow/A...34/t_=34584634
Old 09-04-2007, 09:58 PM
JackDidley
Race Director

Received 229 Likes on 161 Posts

Big, the O2 #s are supposed to do that. The 108 on the blm means its running rich. Does the exhaust smell rich ?? The screen shots in open loop dont tell much. Its closed loop that counts. Maybe some one else has some ideas. I am thinking maybe leaky injectors or FP regulator. Have you checked fuel pressure?
Old 09-04-2007, 10:06 PM
tequilaboy
Melting Slicks

Received 255 Likes on 213 Posts