C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

small cap hei wiring

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2012, 10:00 PM
Midnight 85
Le Mans Master

Received 53 Likes on 31 Posts
Finalist 2020 C4 of the Year - Modified

Default small cap hei wiring

Can anyone explain how to wire a two terminal external coil to a small cap hei? I thought I did it right but I have power to both the pos. and the neg. terminals on the coil. I have original pink wire to positive terminal on coil, then another pink wire coming from the coil to the dist. Same with the original white wire, hooked to neg. term. on coil then another white wire from that term. to the dist.

[IMG][/IMG]

Sorry, I'm no artist, this is what I have now.

Last edited by Midnight 85; 10-17-2012 at 01:10 AM.
Old 10-16-2012, 10:46 PM
C409
Le Mans Master

Received 490 Likes on 334 Posts

....................... The two wires between the distributor and the coil should be the only wires used ............

Last edited by C409; 10-16-2012 at 10:48 PM.
Old 10-17-2012, 04:39 AM
Keystring
Drifting

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Old 10-17-2012, 08:22 AM
joe paco
Burning Brakes

ol' keystring has the knack for computers!l

you probably know that you need a 12V wire to the coil, without the built in resistor. the HEI comes from the 12-14V, though it will run on 6v. I have seen more than one HEI with the original resistor wire from ignition.
Old 10-17-2012, 09:04 AM
Midnight 85
Le Mans Master

Originally Posted by Keystring
While I will be the first to admit I can't make heads nor tails from electrical diagrams, it looks to me as if what you are showing is what I have, power to positive side of coil, then from that terminal to the power feed wire on the dist. Then the tach wire from the firewall to the neg. side of coil, then from that term. to the tach wire on the dist. Also, I am using the small cap hei which has a 4 wire connector and a 2 wire connector.