C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

SYS blinking

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2013, 07:09 AM
davewhtt
Pro

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default SYS blinking

Just put my 93 back on the road after putting in 2! power steering pumps. Im an expert now,yeah right. Took it for a long ride just cruisng at about 50 or 60 mph. Running smooth no problems,until i stepped on it thats when i got the sys flash. I didnt notice any thing other than the sys flash,still ran great. The battery is 6 months old and charging.I still have the old bose radio and havent fooled with anything electrical.Oh by the way i was in Daytona for speed weeks and i made the Nationwide race lucky that i was further down the front stretch than where the engine came through.What a mess! Dave
Old 03-13-2013, 10:51 AM
armysnipe
Racer
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 27 Likes on 21 Posts

Did you mess with the cooling system to work on the power steering? If you did you have to go through at least 3 heat cycles and keep filling the upper expansion tank after it's cooled down. Also, don't forget to bleed the air out of the bleeder on the thermostat housing. If you didn't mess with the cooling system, check all fluid levels and then check for any fault codes after you've charged the battery.
Old 03-13-2013, 11:02 AM
davewhtt
Pro

Yeah i changed the antifreeze and cleaned radiator. Didnt bleed the air out when you look in the tank you can see a good flow of return water so i thought i was ok? During all the work i had the battery on and off alot,i think i better check the ground to make sure its tight. As far as fluid levels i also replaced pwer steering pump and fluid. Ive had car since Oct and havent attempted to read a code. Are there that many possibilities when this sys come up? Thanks Dave
Old 03-13-2013, 11:43 AM
armysnipe
Racer
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 27 Likes on 21 Posts