C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

C4 Fuel Line Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2013, 10:20 AM
Breezie
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default C4 Fuel Line Replacement

Hey Gang,
After reading several posts about 20 yr. old rubber fuel lines, leakage, and fires, I'd like to have my Fuel Line replaced with stainless steel. I need to know where to buy/order it and the correct size. Do I have just the rubber portion replaced? I bought the car 5 days ago, so I'm not familiar with the car, parts, or what I need to do to make it safe as far as fuel lines are concerned. I'm a total newbie, so, any and all information would be helpful. Remember to keep it simple because I'm a novice.
Thanks in advance,
Breezie
Old 06-04-2013, 11:29 AM
roydettmer
Intermediate

I did mine with Russell fittings and line. An-6 with the adapters because there are two different size lines there. 1/2 and 3/8 I think.
Old 06-04-2013, 12:03 PM
Midnight 85
Le Mans Master

Received 53 Likes on 31 Posts
Finalist 2020 C4 of the Year - Modified

I did mine with AN fittings and stainless braided hose but I started hearing claims that the inside of that hose deteriorates and will leak from the inside. I then took the braided off and put solid aluminum lines on, still using the AN fittings. I don't recall the deterioration story ever being proven though but I could be wrong.
Old 06-04-2013, 12:35 PM
Breezie
Intermediate

Originally Posted by roydettmer
I did mine with Russell fittings and line. An-6 with the adapters because there are two different size lines there. 1/2 and 3/8 I think.
Roy, thanks for the reply. So you replaced just the rubber portion of the line with the Russell line or the entire line? Is the steel portion of the line 2 different sizes? Was your rubber lines cracked?