C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Upgraded Radiator

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2015, 09:24 PM
wydopnthrtl
Drifting

Received 290 Likes on 187 Posts

Default Upgraded Radiator

Hey All, just thought I'd give some feedback on a thicker than stock aluminum rad that costs under $200.

Bought it through Amazon for $185 w/free shipping. Search for "Chevrolet Corvette Full Aluminum 3-Row Racing Radiator - C4 5.7L V8 L98/LT1 ZR1" sold by Auto Dynasty
Basically it costs $90 more than a generic replacement so I decided to give it a try. I'd say its a 4 out of 5 for quality. At this price point I'm sure its not made in the US. But.. it appears to have decent quality.

I've never done a C4 rad before so it was all new to me. Took me every bit of 5hrs to R&R, clean, cut, fill and burp the system. Definitely took me much longer than I thought it was going too!
btw, who ever designed the top rad support ought to be fired. That monkey has clearly never had their hands under a hood.

Install tips:
- Trimming the lower rad support w/a dremel tool #561 multipurpose bit made fitting the rad to the lower rad support a breeze.
- The top rubber cushions can be cut to fit w/a knife.
- You must have the tranny cooling pipe adapters (for auto equipped C4s)
- You can do this with the AC condenser in place.
- You need to jack up the passenger front of the car (for draining and to crawl under)

As for the radiator design I give them one ding. The upper coolant hose pipe is too close to the e-fan shroud. (you can see its closer to center of car in the pic below). It'll "fit" but I'd suggest keeping everything loose and putting that hose and clamp on. Then tightening everything else.

Here are the rads specs:
- Constructed of High Quality T-6061 Aluminum Construction.
- High Performance JDM Spec. 3-Row Racing Design
- Light Weight Direct Bolt-On OEM Fitment or Replacement.