C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Oil Filter Teardown

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2016, 01:32 AM
C4ProjectCar
Drifting

Received 45 Likes on 35 Posts
Default Oil Filter Teardown

After I noticed metal in the oil on my dipstick, I decided to do the 500-mile initial oil change on my new engine prematurely, at around 375-400 miles. Given it's my first time breaking in a new engine as well as my first time opening up an oil filter, I have no idea what should be expected. Here are the pictures of the filter media. What do you guys think?

Two pertinent details are that it has a roller cam and that the builder did not thoroughly clean the engine block.

Last edited by C4ProjectCar; 05-27-2016 at 01:33 AM.
Old 05-27-2016, 06:09 AM
antfarmer2
Race Director

Received 578 Likes on 555 Posts

What kind of builder would not clean the block?
Old 05-27-2016, 06:36 AM
WW7
Le Mans Master

Received 398 Likes on 318 Posts

Originally Posted by antfarmer2
A very bad one.....WW
Old 05-27-2016, 09:50 AM
hcbph
Safety Car

Received 526 Likes on 476 Posts

Originally Posted by WW7
A very bad one.....WW

Hope you got some kind of metal leftover in the engine warranty with it as I'm sure you'll likely be using it. If it was me and I had to live with that engine, I'd get a magnetic drain plug and get that in there right away. I'd also plan on doing another 3 or 4 short cycle oil changes to catch as much of that crap and get it out of the engine. I don't know how easy it would be to drop your oil pan but I'd give it serious consideration and clean the heck out of it too.
Old 05-27-2016, 11:00 AM
383vett
Race Director

Received 1,541 Likes on 1,042 Posts

Wow, that's scary. I'd say you have worse problems than a worn distributor gear. Change the oil, put a new filter in and run it for another 100 miles. If it looks anything like this, your motor is shot. It may be shot anyway. Your bearings can't be happy. Good luck.