C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

LT1 noises on video - lifter or injectors or bent rod

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2016, 02:30 AM
woodstockdrifter
Instructor

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default LT1 noises on video - lifter or injectors or bent rod

Hope you guys are doing good. I'm new to the C4 and new to the LT1. Here are some noises that worry me. There are 2 noises, 1 video for each

FIRST a "wob wob wob" Took the video at about 150 F a couple minutes after start up.

SECOND is like a fast "tih-tih-tih" and first noise is gone from what I can tell. I took it after a 12 minute drive

I spent 4 to 5 hours researching this but I'm still trying to narrow it down. It could be dirty oil, dirty or bad lifters, dirty or bad injectors a bent rod or worn cam lobe?? The oil was changed 500 miles ago from 5W30 to 5W30 synthetic. Engine performance is good, start up is good.

The second noise seems to be coming from where I mostly had the camera. I just learned how to change brakes and I also just learned what a lifter is so I will end up taking it to a shop but Im hoping you guys can help me understand this potential problem better. I am learning as much about the C4 and LT1 as I can and want to take very good car of this car.

Is this true? If its a bad lifter, the lifter roller bearings can fail or even disintegrate which will obviously cause engine damage. Thank you for the help.

Last edited by woodstockdrifter; 09-17-2016 at 05:06 PM.
Old 09-15-2016, 12:28 PM
pifo1964
Instructor

Received 21 Likes on 15 Posts

Maybe this thread can help and guide you on what to look at. The noise is very similar.
Today, 2000 miles after, my car runs even better but still hear the noise. I do not worry anymore and that´s good for my mental health....

https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums...ine-noise.html
Old 09-15-2016, 12:41 PM
RUU
Melting Slicks

Received 107 Likes on 89 Posts